Drivers from Kentucky who get stopped for DUIs in certain other states may be interested to learn that in December 2015, the U.S. Supreme Court agreed to hear multiple cases that called the constitutionality of some drunk driving tests into question. Two of Kentucky's neighbors, Tennessee and Virginia, are among the thirteen states where police can charge drivers with criminal offenses if they don't submit to breathalyzer testing. Cases from North Dakota and Minnesota argue that the laws permitting such practices may themselves be illegal.
Most Kentucky residents would not think of getting behind the wheel of their car with a blood alcohol level above the state's .08 percent legal limit, but they may be surprised to learn how much their driving abilities can be compromised by even one or two drinks. A glass of wine, a mug of beer and a shot of liquor all contain about 0.6 ounces of alcohol, which is generally enough to raise the BAC level of a male who weighs 160 pounds by .02 percent, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.